GeeGees Image

Redmen best Gee-Gees in Jack Donohue Tournament final

Sunday November 1, 2015
Caleb Jack Donohue
Richard A. Whittaker

The McGill Redmen took a close 74-70 win over Ottawa in the finals of the 2015 Jack Donohue Tournament, spoiling the Gee-Gees’ perfect pre-season record. Dele Ogundokun was a force in the fourth for McGill, adding 7 points, 4 rebounds for a double-double of 18 and 13 to finish the game. The real nail in the Gee-Gees coffin though was third-year guard Jenning Leung who had a layup and an assist in the dying seconds to put the Gee-Gees away. Leung finished with 17 points and earned tournament MVP Honours.

After one quarter of play the Redmen held a 21-15 lead, thanks in part to Vincent Dufort going 3-4 from beyond the arc and grabbing 5 rebounds.

The Gee-Gees started to exploit their size in the paint however, finding Nathan McCarthy for four-straight buckets and two foul shots to open the second frame. Defence was key for uOttawa in the second quarter, holding Dufort scoreless and allowing Dele Ogundokun (who averaged 13 points in the first two games of the tournament) just five points.

Tensions were high as the teams retreated to the locker room at half tied 31-31.

The two squads were well-matched in the third quarter. While the Redmen won the rebounding battle, pulling down 8 offensive boards and 7 defensive to uOttawa’s 2 and 5, uOttawa connected on more of their scoring opportunities (47% vs. McGill’s 26.3%), pulling ahead 53-46 at the end of the third.

Caleb Agada had a game-high 28 points, 14 rebounds and 4 steals, with McCarthy chipping in 13 points and 4 boards for the Gee-Gees.

In the consolation finals the Varsity Reds took the bronze 91-81 over York, with UNB’s Javon Masters and the Lions’ Nathan Culbreath being named to the tournament’s All-Star team.

The Gee-Gees hit the court at Montpetit Hall again at 8 p.m. on Friday, November 6 for their first regular season home game against the Nipissing Lakers. First though, they will travel to play the Indiana Hoosiers on Tuesday, November 3.


Jack Donohue Tournament All-Star Team

Javon Masters – UNB

Nathan Culbreath – York

Mike L’Africain – uOttawa

Caleb Agada – uOttawa

Dele Ogundokun – McGill


Tournament MVP: Jenning Leung – McGill