GeeGees Image

OUA All-Star Announcement: Men’s Basketball Players Honoured

Thursday March 1, 2012

Ontario University Athletics announced the East Division All-Star teams this morning, and three Gee-Gees have been honoured for their outstanding performances in 2011-12.

The Ottawa Gee-Gees have two rookies voted among the division’s best as Mike L’Africain (Oakville, Ont.) and Vikas Gill (Stittsville, Ont.) have been named to the east All-Rookie team. Second-year guard Johnny Berhanemeskel (Ottawa, Ont.) was also recognized by the league, earning a place on the First Team All-Star list.

Berhanemeskel is back on the OUA Awards list, this time as a First Team All-Star. The sophomore guard led the Gee-Gees in scoring by averaging 17.2 points per game, which was sixth best in the OUA. He was named to the all-rookie squad last season.

Four of the players on the First Team, including Berhanemeskel, had games where they scored over thirty points and the average points per game of the five combined is 17.7. Berhanemeskel is right on the money with his 17.2 per game. He hit the sixth most three-pointers in the CIS this season, and set a new career high for points in a game when he dropped 34 at Queen’s on February 10.

Mike L’Africain came through his first campaign in the OUA as a recognized true point guard for the Gee-Gees. His distribution skills and sense for when to score himself made the Ottawa offense dynamic and exciting. L’Africain averaged 12.0 points per game and was twelfth in the CIS in three-point shooting percentage, hitting 46 per cent of his 80 long-range shot attempts.

Joining L’Africain on the All-Rookie Team is Vikas Gill. The crafty forward gave opponents problems with his combination of length and shooting ability as the 6-7 Stittsville native poured in 41 three-pointers with a 43 per cent accuracy rate. He also averaged just over three rebounds per game while logging 19.5 minutes per game.

The major award winners will be announced tomorrow, March 2, at the Wilson Cup awards breakfast in Waterloo, Ont. Mike L’Africain is nominated for Rookie of the Year.