GeeGees Image

Men’s Basketball: At Carleton on Saturday, for the OUA East Finals

Thursday March 4, 2010

Men’s Basketball (18-4 OUA, 29-9 overall, 1-0 playoff)

At Carleton (20-2 OUA, 1-0 playoff) Saturday, March 6, 8:00 p.m. for the OUA East Finals (Rogers, SSN)


The Gee-Gees advanced to the East finals after defeating the York Lions 77-61 at the Montpetit Hall last Saturday in the OUA East semi-finals.

This year will mark the Gee-Gees tenth appearance at the OUA East final game since 1975. Their record is 2-9. uOttawa defeated Toronto 87-67 in 1993 and knocked off Laurentian 73-61 in 1975 to claim the OUA East title.


This is the fourth year in a row that uOttawa and Carleton meet in the OUA East finals, their fifth time in six years. Carleton has defeated the Gee-Gees in all five of these contests to capture the OUA crown.

With Dave DeAveiro as head coach, the Gee-Gees are 3-15 all time versus Carleton in the regular season, going 1-8 at home and 2-7 away. They are 0-5 in the playoffs.


In their last game of the regular season just two weeks ago, February 20, the Gee-Gees just missed adding a fourth win to their overall record against the Ravens, falling 87-86 at Carleton in an exciting overtime thriller.


Fifth-year guard and Gee-Gees all-time leading scorer Josh Gibson-Bascombe (Toronto, Ont.) was honoured with OUA East Player of the Year, as well as East first-team all-star, following the announcement of the OUA East award winners Thursday, March 4. Second-year guard Warren Ward (London, Ont.), who made last year’s all-rookie team, was named East second-team all-star, while first-year teammate Ryan Malcolm-Campbell (Mississauga, Ont.) earned a spot on the East all-rookie team.

Head coach Dave DeAveiro was named OUA East Coach of the Year after finishing off the regular season with a record of 18-4. This is DeAveiro’s third time being named Coach of the Year; he was honoured with the title two years in a row in 2004-05 and 2005-06.

Three Carleton players were also honoured with awards: fifth-year forward Kevin McCleery (Ottawa, Ont.) was named to the first-team all-star, third-year guard Elliot Thompson (Fredericton, NB) was named second-team all-star, first-year forward Tyson Hinz (Bloomfield, Ont.) was named to the all-rookie team, and third-year guard Cole Hobin (Ashton, Ont.) was named defensive player of the year.