GeeGees Image

Gee-Gees shine

Wednesday January 21, 2009

Gee-Gees shine

Chaulk, Scobie among six honoured at Ottawa Sports Awards


uOttawa women’s rugby head coach Suzanne Chaulk and men’s basketball assistant coach John Scobie were among six current or former Gee-Gees honoured Wednesday night at the 2008 Ottawa Sports Awards.


Scobie, 65, a Carleton graduate in his third season with the uOttawa men’s basketball program, was presented an Ottawa Sports Awards lifetime achievement award after nearly 40 years of developing both talent and character at all levels of local basketball.


“I was surprised by it,” said Scobie, a former teacher. “It’s certainly not something that was a goal.


“To me coaching basketball is the ultimate in teaching.


“The (athletes) want to be there and they want to be involved and that makes it easy to keep going.”


Chaulk, who founded the uOttawa women’s rugby program in 1991 and has led the team through 17 consecutive seasons in the playoffs, earned an Ottawa Sports Awards female coach of the year honour after leading the FISU Canadian 7s team to a 2008 world silver medal.


“So often the spotlight is on the athletes, which is where it should be,” said Chaulk, who received her first Ottawa Sports Award. “It’s very special.”


Former Gee-Gees women’s rugby player Cassandra Wendzich (2002-05) of Rockland, ON, who played on the FISU Canadian 7s team, earned an Ottawa Sports Award for rugby.


Former Gee-Gees women’s volleyball player Christine Lamey (2003-07) of Kanata, now playing professional volleyball in Portugal, earned an Ottawa Sports Award after being named a 2007-08 first-team CIS all-Canadian selection.


Current Gee-Gees women's hockey defender and team captain Danika Smith of Munster Hamlet, ON along with women's hockey team graduate Kim Kerr of Ottawa were also honoured  with an Ottawa Sports Award for helping the Ottawa Devils women's touch football team repeat as 2008 Ontario and Canadian champion. Kerr is the Devils quarterback.


The 2008 Ottawa Sports Awards banquet was held at Algonquin College.