GeeGees Image

Gee-Gees honored at annual varsity athletic banquet

Friday April 1, 2011

The Ottawa Marriott once again played host to the University of Ottawa Sports Services annual varsity athletic banquet on Friday night. It was an evening of celebration and recognition for all student-athletes and their athletic achievements as Gee-Gees this past season.

Watch a recap of the Gee-Gees 2010-11 season.

In his opening speech, Director of Sport Services Luc Gélineau made it a point to celebrate not only their athletic achievement, but more importantly their contribution to the Gee-Gees and the University as a whole.

“The Gee-Gees teams represent high-level elite sport and the pride and involvement on campus in your achievements extends far beyond the boundaries of your teams,” said Gélineau. “We all share in the passion for your sport and your teams and we thank you for allowing us to be a part of it. I hope that tonight will give each of you the chance to relive great moments with your teammates and look back on the past season with pride,” he concluded.

Taking away the top honours of the evening were none other than fourth-year quarterback Brad Sinopoli, Peterborough, Ont., and fifth-year setter Tess Edwards, Ottawa, Ont., as the University of Ottawa Gee-Gees male and female athletes of the year.

The Director’s Awards were presented to uOttawa athletes who have achieved national recognition with an individual award as a rookie or as a first-team All-Canadian. The Gee-Gees are proud to have a total of seven athletes achieving this status.

They included: first-team football All-Canadian Sébastien Tétreault, Granby, Qué., first-team football All-Canadian Matt Bolduc, Ottawa, Ont., first-team football All-Canadian and Hec Crighton award winner Brad Sinopoli, men’s hockey CIS All-Rookie team Luc Olivier Blain, Longueuil, Qué., CIS long jump champion Christopher Greenaway, Brossard, Qué., CIS 200m backstroke swimming champion Matt Hawes, Ottawa, Ont., and CIS women’s volleyball All-Rookie team Myriam English, Ottawa, Ont.

As for the President’s Award, given to the male and female athletes who display excellence in not only athletics but also in academics and community service, it was bestowed upon fifth-year basketball forward Nemanja Baletic, Ottawa, Ont., and fifth-year soccer player Elise Desjardins, Cumberland, Ont.

Each team also honoured its most valuable player of the year.


Here is a complete list of all major award winners and team MVP’s:

Male Athlete of the Year: Brad Sinopoli (Football)

Female Athlete of the Year: Tess Edwards (Volleyball)

Director’s Awards

Male Recipients:

Sébastien Tétreault (Football)

Matt Bolduc (Football)

Brad Sinopoli (Football)

Luc Olivier Blain (Men’s Hockey)

Christopher Greenaway (Track & Field)

Matt Hawes (Swimming)

Female Recipients:

Myriam English (Women’s Volleyball)

President’s Award:

Male recipient: Nemanja Baletic (Men’s Basketball)

Female recipient: Élise Desjardins (Women’s Soccer)

Student Therapist of the Year:

Laura Pathak

Most Valuable Player Awards:

Men’s basketball:Warren Ward

Women’s basketball: Hannah Sunley-Paisley

Men’s Cross Country: Matthieu Vierula

Women’s Cross Country: Emily Clarke

Football: Brad Sinopoli

Men’s Hockey: Luc Olivier Blain

Women’s Hockey: Fannie Desforges

Women’s Rugby: Kate Foulds

Women’s Soccer: Laurel Fougere

Men’s Swimming: Matt Hawes

Women’s Swimming: Eryn Weldon

Men’s Track & Field: Christopher Greenaway

Women’s Track & Field: Michele Krech

Women’s Volleyball: Tess Edwards