GeeGees Image

Saluting the Gee-Gees class of 2015

Wednesday March 25, 2015
Gee-Gees members
Richard A. Whittaker

On Tuesday night, the University of Ottawa spent an evening to recognize the careers of its graduating student-athlete class of 2015. This year, a total of 56 student-athletes from varsity teams are graduating from their program of study, or have completed their years of eligibility.

The evening was highlighted by a keynote speech from Gee-Gees alumnus John Halvorsen who is the President and Race Director for Run Ottawa and the Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend. Halvorsen was a member of the dynasty of Gee-Gees cross country teams from 1986-90, winning four individual and three team CIS titles during his time. He would go on to compete internationally and professionally before returning to Ottawa to begin working in the high tech sector.

Halvorsen, who earned an electrical engineering degree and an MBA from uOttawa while training for the 1988 and 1992 Summer Olympic Games, engaged the reception guests with his stories of international competition and also stressed the importance of remaining involved in sport beyond the university sphere. His involvement with the Board of Directors of Athletics Canada and his current position with Run Ottawa are what he now calls his ‘third career.’

Of the 56 graduating athletes, 16 were presented with the Gee-Gees Lifetime Award for having spent five full years of athletic eligibility with uOttawa. Those student-athletes are:

Maris Barnabe (soccer)

Jose Baylon (swimming)

Johnny Berhanemeskel (basketball)

Kelsie English (volleyball)

Myriam English (volleyball)

Gabriel Gonthier-Dubue (basketball)

Asha Kauffeldt (hockey)

Nicole Lachance (swimming)

Taylor Moore (swimming)

Chiara Quadri (soccer)

Taylor Servais (football)

Victoria Smith (swimming)

Stephanie Theiler (volleyball)

Matthieu Vierula (cross country)

Eryn Weldon (swimming)

Randy Williams (football)