GeeGees Image

Berhanemeskel and English are uOttawa Athletes of the Year

Friday April 4, 2014
Richard A. Whittaker

Sports Services at the University of Ottawa celebrated the 2013-14 varsity season at the annual awards banquet on Friday, April 4. Fourth-years Johnny Berhanemeskel of the men’s basketball team and Myriam English of women’s volleyball took home the Athlete of the Year awards, headlining the evening’s major awards.

Stéphanie Mercier of the women’s hockey team and football’s Mike Randazzo were awarded the President’s Awards for their athletic achievements in combination with community involvement, and seven Gee-Gees from six different teams received the Director’s Award to mark their achievements on the national scale.


Berhanemeskel was named the Male Athlete of the Year and the most valuable player on the CIS silver-medal winning men’s basketball team. The Ottawa native set the program record for most points scored in a single season, 451, and ranked sixth in the nation in points per game. He lifted the team to its second ever Wilson Cup OUA championship by sinking the game-winning basket, and was named a CIS Second Team All-Star.

Myriam English brings the Athlete of the Year trophy back to the women’s volleyball team thanks to her OUA-leading season on the left side of the Gee-Gees attack. English was named the OUA East Player of the Year after leading the province in both kills and points per set and ranking fifth and third in the nation in those categories. The Orleans, Ont. product was also named to the CIS First Team of All-Stars.

Stéphanie Mercier captured the President’s Award following her strong season between the pipes for the women’s hockey team. The third-year nursing student is active in the community growth of women’s hockey and fitness, both in her hometown of Smooth Rock Falls, Ont. and with the Gee-Gees. In addition, she has worked on various projects with the Multiple Sclerosis Society and established an Aquafit program for elderly care patients.

Mike Randazzo, a defensive back with the men’s football team, was also an outstanding contributor to the University community this season. The fourth-year psychology student served on the Student Federation as the Social Sciences Faculty representative, and has served two years as the Vice President University Affairs for the Aboriginal and Canadian Studies Student Association. For the past three summers the Hamilton, Ont. product has coached football on Aboriginal reservations in northern Quebec, and was promoted last summer to be the head coach in the Cree Nation of Mistissini. Randazzo continues to contribute to the Aboriginal community during the academic terms by volunteering at the Odawa Friendship Center in Ottawa, working with youth as a tutor, supervisor, or driver.

Congratulations to all of the Gee-Gees varsity award winners this season:



Johnny Berhanemeskel

Myriam English



Mike Randazzo

Stéphanie Mercier



Myriam English, volleyball, 1st team All-Canadian

Julia Francki, soccer, 1st team All-Canadian

Sekou Kaba, track and field, CIS gold medallist, 60-metre hurdles

Ettore Lattanzio, football, 1st team All-Canadian

Cynthia Leblanc, soccer, 1st team All-Canadian

Vickie Lemire, women’s hockey, CIS All-Rookie Team

Natasha Watcham-Roy, rugby, All-Canadian



Shannon Walsh-Moreau, soccer

Catherine Fillion, women’s basketball



Men’s basketball - Johnny Berhanemeskel – 4th year, 2-time winner

Women’s basketball - Maddie Stephen – 3rd year, 1st time winner

Men’s cross country - Remy Binns – 5th year, 2-time winner

Women’s cross country - Isabelle Kanz – 3rd year, 3-time winner

Football - Aaron Colbon – 5th year, 1st time winner

Women’s hockey - Maude Laramée – 2nd year, 1st time winner

Rugby - Natasha Watcham-Roy – 5th year, 1st time winner

Soccer - Cynthia Leblanc – 3rd year, 1st time winner

Men’s swimming - Jose Baylon – 4th year, 1st time winner

Women’s swimming - Eryn Weldon – 4th year, 3-time winner

Men’s track and field - Sekou Kaba – 2nd year, 2-time winner

Women’s track and field - Charlotte Gardner – 2nd year, 1st time winner

Volleyball - Myriam English – 4th year, 1st time winner