GeeGees Image

NEWS: Sports Services announces nominees for major year-end awards

Tuesday April 3, 2018
Gee-Gees year-end awards

As the 2017-18 varsity season draws to a close, Sports Services is proud to announce the nominees for the Gee-Gees’ major year-end awards.

The Female Athlete of the Year category boasts an impressive roster of nominees, each of which were named conference All-Stars and two of which received recognition at the U SPORTS level.

The nominees are:

Katherine Bearne – Women’s soccer

Dria Bennett – Women’s Rugby

Sabrina Roy – Women’s volleyball

Brooklynn McAlear-Fanus – Women’s basketball


The Male Athlete of the Year also is a solid group of star athletes, each had landmark seasons for their teams, and were leaders on and off the field of play. Nearly every nominee received recognition from their conferences, while two received recognition at the U SPORTS level.

The nominees are:

Cody Drover – Men’s hockey

Jackson Bennett – Football

Montana Champagne – Swimming

Jean Emmanuel Pierre-Charles – Men’s basketball


The President’s Award is presented to the student-athlete who best combines athletic achievements, academics, and community involvement. One male and one female student-athlete will receive this award.

The female nominees are:

Kellie Forand – Women’s basketball

Katherine Bearne – Women’s soccer

Taylor McGaughey – Women’s hockey

Breanna Phillipps – Women’s rugby


The male nominees are:

Quinn O’Brien – Men’s hockey

Ty Cranston – Football

Mackenzie Morrison – Men’s basketball


The Female Rookie of the Year Award category is perhaps the deepest of any category, with each player earning recognition or outstanding performance on a conference and national level.

Brigitte Lefebvre-Okankwu – basketball

Katerin Delev – soccer

Christine Deaudelin – hockey

Lauren Minns – rugby

Keira Christie-Galloway – track and field


The Male Rookie of the Year category also boasts significant depth of talent, featuring high impact freshman from very successful teams. Each athlete had moments that showed their boundless potential going forward in their careers.

Alex Lavric - Football

Médric Mercier – Men’s hockey

J. Isaac – Swimming

Chase Tynes & Alex Muise – Men’s basketball


Winners will be announced following the 2018 Varsity Athletic Banquet on April 5.