GeeGees Image

Sparks is OUA East Coach of the Year, Gee-Gees earn five all-star nods

Wednesday March 6, 2013

HAMILTON, Ont. –  Ottawa schools are well represented as Ontario University Athletics announces the major award winner and all-stars from the East Division. After sweeping the OUA East major awards last season, this season’s Gee-Gees featured two conference first team all-stars, a second team all-star, two rookie all-stars, and the second consecutive Coach of the Year award for Andy Sparks.

Ottawa Gee-Gees forward Jenna Gilbert (Ottawa) was a force in 2012-13, despite losing a portion of her season to injury. Even though she missed eight games, Gilbert still managed to sit fourth in total points on the high-scoring Ottawa team. She collected 175 points on the year, and her average of 13.5 per game was 13th in the OUA and sixth in the East. The first team nod is the first in her career after being named to the second team in each of the past two seasons.

After being named the OUA East rookie of the year a season ago Gee-Gees guard Kellie Ring (Ottawa) become an all-star for the first time. The sophomore point guard led the east with 5.0 assists per game, while also adding 9.3 points and 6.1 rebounds per game for the first-place Gee-Gees.

After guiding the University of Ottawa to a 16-4 regular season mark and first place in the OUA East, Gee-Gees bench boss Andy Sparks has been named the division’s coach of the year. Sparks claims the honour for the second consecutive season, and third in his uOttawa tenure. Playing portions of the season without keys players due to injury, Sparks inspired his squad to the top scoring offence (67.7 ppg) and the number two defence (55.2 points allowed) in the East.

The Gee-Gees’ sophomore centre Maddie Stephen (Toronto) was named to the conference second team after being one of only two OUA players to average a double-double (10.7 ppg, 11.4 rpg). Stephen finished second in the CIS in rebounds per game this season, her first as a starter.

Rounding awards for the Gee-Gees are Julia Soriano (Toronto) and Catherine Traer (Chelsea, Que.), who were named OUA East All-Rookie team members. Soriano was a strong option at guard for the Gee-Gees, with 6.2 points, 3.7 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game, while Traer was a defensive force, finishing first in the east and second in the OUA in blocks with 30 on the year. Traer finished in the top ten in the nation in blocks.

For a detailed description of all the OUA East Award winners, see the OUA release.



Player of the Year: Alyson Bush - Carleton
Rookie of the Year: Cassandra Nofuente - Ryerson
Defensive Player of the Year: Alyson Bush - Carleton
Joy Bellinger Award: Alyson Bush - Carleton
Tracy McLeod Award: Darcy Hawkins - Carleton
Coach of the Year: Andy Sparks - Ottawa



First Team
Alyson Bush – Carleton
Sasha Polishcuk – Laurentian
Jenna Gilbert – Ottawa
Kellie Ring – Ottawa
Cyrielle Recoura – York

Second Team
Cassandra Nofuente – Ryerson
Rachael Sider – Toronto
Lizz Boag – Queen’s
Lindsay Shotbolt – Carleton
Maddie Stephen – Ottawa

All-Rookie Team
Cassandra Nofuente – Ryerson
Cyrielle Recoura – York
Lindsay Shotbolt – Carleton
Julia Soriano – Ottawa
Catherine Traer - Ottawa