GeeGees Image

Ward and Baggott receive top honours at Varsity Athletic Banquet

Thursday April 4, 2013

The University of Ottawa Sports Services celebrated a year full of milestones and accomplishments for its varsity sports teams at its annual varsity athletic banquet hosted by the Ottawa Marriott Thursday night.

Graduating players Warren Ward and Gillian Baggott were atop the list of honourees, being named the male and female athlete of the year. Ward finished an outstanding five-year career by leading his team to a bronze medal at the CIS National Championship, its first national medal in program history, while also breaking the school record for most points in a game (43). Baggott, who was named CIS Player of the Year, led her team to an undefeated season and was at the forefront of the powerful Gee-Gees defence which allowed only one goal against all season.

François Rodrigue of the football team and Alicia Blomberg of the women’s hockey team were awarded the President's Award for outstanding combination of athletic and academic success, while providing leadership and service to the community. Both Rodrigue and Blomberg have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic success, while dedicating themselves to helping children within the community succeed both in school and sport.

The Director’s Awards were also presented to uOttawa athletes who have achieved national recognition with an individual award as a rookie or as a first-team All-Canadian. This year the Gee-Gees were very proud to acknowledge 11 athletes who achieved such recognition.

The Director's Award winners are:

Gillian Baggott (Soccer)
Maude Laramée (Women’s hockey)
Sarah Meng (Rugby)
Karina Krueger- Schwanke (Volleyball)
Emma Galbraith (Track and Field – 1000m and 1500m)
Devin Biocchi (Track and Field – 300m)
Oluwasegun Makinde (Track and Field – Relay)
Toluwalope Makinde (Track and Field – Relay)
Gabriel Tesfaye (Track and Field – Relay)
Michael Robertson (Track and Field – Relay)
Devin Biocchi (Track and Field – Relay)

This year marked an incredible year in Gee-Gees varsity history and the University of Ottawa Sports Services is very proud off all our athletes. Congratulations to all and we look forward to another exciting season next Fall!

Here is a complete list of all major award winners and team MVPs:

Male athlete of the year: Warren Ward (Basketball)

Female athlete of the year: Gillian Baggott (Soccer)

President’s Award
Male recipient
: François Rodrigue (Football)
Female recipient: Alicia Blomberg (Hockey)

Student Therapists of the Year
Simone Julien (Women’s volleyball)

Most Valuable Player Awards
Men’s basketball: Warren Ward
Women’s basketball: Jenna Gilbert
Women’s Cross Country: Isabelle Kanz
Men’s Cross Country: Remy Binns
Football: Brendan Gillanders
Men’s Hockey: Dominic Jalbert
Women’s Hockey: Alicia Blomberg
Women’s Rugby: Sarah Meng
Women’s Soccer: Gillian Baggott
Men’s Swimming: Adam Best
Women’s Swimming: Taylor Moore
Men’s Track & Field: Devin Biocchi
Women’s Track & Field: Emma Galbraith
Women’s Volleyball: Christina Grail