GeeGees Image
Uottawa

Initiatives

Giving Tuesday

Sports Services is proud to support many good causes and to help raise awareness and funds during Gee-Gees home games. If you want to make a donation, please visit the initiative website and come to a Gee-Gees game!


Mental Health Initiatives

Bell Let's Talk

Bell Let's Talk Logo.The Bell Let’s Talk initiative is focused on raising awareness and encouraging dialogue about mental health. One of the biggest hurdles for anyone suffering from mental illness is overcoming the stigma. It is the number one reason why two-thirds of those living with a mental illness do not seek help. The annual Bell Let’s Talk awareness campaign and Day opens the national conversation about mental illness to fight the stigma and the dramatic impact of mental health issues all across the country.

Join the Gee-Gees to end stigma and raise funds on January 21, 2017, during the basketball games at 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.

Do It For Daron Night

Purple Heart with DIFD letters inside.Do It For Daron (DIFD) is about inspiring conversations -- raising awareness -- transforming youth mental health. DIFD encourages young people to talk openly about mental illness and to ask for help when needed. DIFD provides young people, their parents, teachers, coaches and other adult role models with the resources, outlets and, most importantly, courage to overcome the shame and fear of discussing mental illness. The purple DIFD heart, a creation inspired by Daron’s favourite colour, has become the youth-driven symbol of this movement. It is a visual reminder that only love and awareness, not hiding in the shadows, can combat youth mental illness.

Join us on February 2, 2017 for the DIFD night and help raise awareness and funds for youth mental health.

SAMHI

SaMHI initiative logo.The Gee-Gees are proud to support the Student-Athletes Mental Health initiative. By sharing stories and raising awareness, developing resources for student-athletes and coaches, and working with post-secondary institutions, SAMHI is changing what it means to be mentally tough. The Student-Athlete Mental Health Initiative is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting wellness and mental health, and supporting student-athletes who may suffer from a mental health problem or illness.

 


Think Pink Campaign

Shoot for the cure

Pink Basketball, CIS Logo, Shoot for the cure.The Shoot for the Cure fundraising campaign has helped raise $1,011,283.64 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation - and other related charities - since 2007 is up and running for a 10th straight year. 

Join us on January 13, 2017, for the Shoot for the Cure night and help raise money and awareness for breast cancer.

 

Tackle Cancer

Every year, the Gee-Gees football team is proud to wear pink and to support the fight against breast cancer. Stay tuned for more details.

Pink the Rink

Pink the Rink Logo.Every year, against the Carleton Ravens, the Gee-Gees women's hockey team is playing a Pink the Rink game to raise awareness about breast cancer and to raise funds for the Think Pink campaign.

 

Pepole Ribbon

Community

Toy Mountain

Christmas Tree made from the words Toy Mountain.Bring a toy to the December 3rd basketball game and get a free ticket to the Shoot for the cure game on January 21st!

Logo des Gee-Gees
Université d'Ottawa

Initiatives

Sports Servics Job Fair - March 30.

Le Service des sports est fier d'appuyer plusieurs causes afin d'effectuer de la sensibilisation et d'amasser des fonds durant les matchs à domicile des Gee-Gees. Pour faire un don, veuillez visiter le site web de l'initiative et venez assister à un match des Gee-Gees!


Initiatives en santé mentale

Bell Cause pour la cause

Bell Let's Talk Logo.L’initiative Bell Cause pour la cause vise à sensibiliser les gens et à encourager le dialogue sur la santé mentale. Seulement le tiers des Canadiens ayant besoin de services en santé mentale recevront des soins. Cette situation est souvent causée par la stigmatisation liée à la maladie mentale ou par l'impossibilité d'avoir accès à des programmes communautaires. Afin de poursuivre la lutte contre la stigmatisation, Bell Cause pour la cause lance une conversation nationale sur la maladie mentale et ses conséquences dramatiques dans toutes les régions. 

Joignez-vous aux Gee-Gees pour mettre fin à la stigmatisation et amasser des fonds le 21 janvier 2017 lors des matchs de basketball à 18 h et 20 h. 

Soirée Do It For Daron

Purple Heart with DIFD letters inside.Do It For Daron (DIFD) inspire les conversations, effectue de la sensibilisation et transforme la santé mentale chez les jeunes. DIFD encourage les jeunes à parler ouvertement de la santé mentale et à demander de l'aide. DIFD fournit aux jeunes, à leurs parents, professeurs et autres adultes les ressources et, plus important encore, le courage de passer par dessus la honte et la peur des discussions au sujet de la santé mentale. Le coeur mauve de DIFD, une création inspirée de la couleur préférée de Daron, est devenu le symbole emblématique de ce mouvement. Il s'agit d'un rappel visuel que l'amour et la sensibilisation, et non se cacher dans l'ombre, peuvent combattre la maladie mentale.

Joignez-vous à nous le 2 février 2017 pour la soirée DIFD afin d'amasser des fonds et d'effectuer de la sensibilisation pour la santé mentale chez les jeunes.

SAMHI

SaMHI initiative logo.
Les Gee-Gees sont fiers d'appuyer l’initiative en santé mentale pour étudiants athlètes. En partageant leurs histoires, en sensibilisant les gens, en développant des ressources pour les étudiants-athlètes et leurs entraîneurs et en travaillant avec les établissements postsecondaires, ISMÉA change ce que signifie d’éprouver des difficultés mentales. L’initiative en santé mentale pour étudiants-athlètes est un organisme à but non lucratif qui est dédié à la promotion du bien-être et de la santé mentale. L’ISMÉA appuie les étudiants athlètes aux prises avec un trouble de santé mentale.


Campagne Pensez rose

Lancer pour la guérison

Pink Basketball, CIS Logo, Shoot for the cure.

La campagne Lancer pour la guérison a permis d’amasser 1 011 283,64 $  depuis 2007 pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein et d'autres œuvres de charité et est de retour pour une 10e année consécutive.

Joignez-vous à nous le 13 janvier 2017 pour la soirée Lancer pour la guérison afin de recueillir de l'argent et de sensibiliser le public au cancer du sein.

Blitz contre le cancer

Comme tous les ans, l’équipe de football des Gee-Gess est fière de porter le rose en appui à la bataille contre le cancer du sein. Restez à l’écoute pour plus de détails.

Match en rose

Pink the Rink Logo.Chaque année, contre les Ravens de Carleton, l’équipe de hockey féminin des Gee-Gees dispute le Match en rose afin d'amasser des fonds pour la campagne Pensez rose et pour sensibiliser le public au cancer du sein.

 

Pepole Ribbon

Communauté

Montagne de jouets

Christmas Tree made from the words Toy Mountain.Apportez un jouet le 3 décembre lors du match de basketball et obtenez un billet gratuit pour le match Lancer pour la guérison le 21 janvier 2017!